A person of emotion…apparently

Political Discussion, Uncategorized

I can’t help but think about my manifesto Post-Other Age. I can’t help but think about how it has been ignored by my peers. I can’t help but think about how much I pissed off my intellectual mentors simply because they couldn’t stomach my (mostly tongue-in-cheek) distaste/distrust of psychoanalysis… I can’t help but think about how they got caught up on this one tiny challenge and ignored the more important, the more resonant parts of what I insist. To that I say two things:

  • Me challenging the way psychoanalysis marginalizes non-male, non-heterosexuals doesn’t mean I am anti-Semitic. It also doesn’t make me stupid, extreme, base, or uneducated.
  • I wish people read what I wrote more carefully. But alas, I am a person with little voice; one who has always been met with silence. This drives me crazy beyond belief.

 

I’ve been called “a person of emotion, not a person of ideas…” and while I am still trying to figure out what that means, this person without ideas is going to share them… knowing that, more than likely, what I say, will fall on deaf ears. Insert a month of blog posts here… one a day… one for every idea in my manifesto that I feel is worth sharing, because, toward you Mr. Silence, there are noshitsgiven.

A Post-Other Age

We have entered an epoch that is post-gender, not in the sense that we no longer have distinct, sexual body parts, but in the sense that society needs to have intense conversations that push beyond reinforcing the control of power through historical patterns of the male/female binary. In a broader sense, we have also entered an epoch that is Post-Other, not in the sense that we are no longer culturally different, but in the sense that society needs to have intense discussions that push beyond the reinforcement of normative power structures. Categories of gender, sexuality, race, ethnicity, etc. have been unraveling for a reason; our conversations about art, politics, and each other, likewise, need to unravel.

So what does Post-Other mean? The term Post-Other[1] means a departure from, and a distrust in the grand theories and ideologies that help us understand, interact, judge, and label the Other. Post-Other also refers to a rejection of the problematic modes of relationship which mediate between normative and the perpetual other groups; this rejection comes not because we have moved on or have departed from the problems and struggles related to the “us” vs “them” binary, but precisely because we haven’t, and we desperately need to.

[1] Think about Post-Other as something similar to the term Postmodern. A pseudo-intellectual way to describe a set of unclear criteria and values to differentiate old bullshit from new.

Leave a Reply

